Count Vorontsov started palace construction close to John the Baptist’s Beheading Church in 1881. The palace in Luis XIII style was designed by a French architect Bushar.
In 1882 due to the death of Count Vorotsov the construction works of Massandra Palace were stopped till 1889, when Massandra estate of the Vorontsovs together with unfinished palace were bought for Emperor Alexander III. The Palace ensemble construction works were continued from 1892 till 1900 under design of professor Mesmakher.
A lot of changes were made to decorate façade in modernist style, interior and park layout were subject to change, as well. Architect Vegener supervised the construction works. But Alexander III didn’t manage to live there, as he died in Small Livadia Palace in 1894 . During the Soviet time this marvelous architectural monument was a top secret facility. The ex-USSR Communist Party leaders and members of government stayed for holidays in the czar’s palace that became a state summer residence. Currently the palace is a tourist attraction.
The park of 6 hectares and the palace comprise a unique park and palace complex.
In Soviet period this fine architectural monument was closed "object" for years. In the imperial palace which has become a state summer residence, heads of party and the government of the former USSR stopped on rest. Now the palace is object of excursions.
The pyramidal roof crowns the three-storyed building executed in modernist style, with set of decorative external details. Ease and grace give to a palace glassy ends of "serf" towers and high chimney pipes which direct high into the air. The palace intended for rest, therefore there are apartments for receptions, no smart halls in it. Living rooms are tiny, with low ceilings and cozy fireplaces Crimean marble-like limestone.
Park with the area of 6 hectares and a palace composition create unique palatial-park ensemble.